WEF Honors Hurlbutt Elementary School Librarian Sharon Rodko with David Trigaux Award

Sharon Rodko is the Weston Education Foundation’s (WEF) 2019 recipient of the renowned David Trigaux Innovation Award. WEF gives this award annually to teachers who demonstrate a unique level of originality and dedication to creative teaching. The $2,500 award may be used by the recipient in any way that fosters educational innovation, including travel, studies, or work outside the classroom. “WEF’s objective is to enable recipients to pursue their work with increased vigor,” said Grants Chair, Sandy Hart.

Ms. Rodko has made a profoundly positive impact on Hurlbutt students and the Hurlbutt community over her career. Through her creative and collaborative efforts, she has developed many new and innovative projects and study plans for various age groups, including the use of BeeBot robots to practice first grade math facts and new Breakout Edu puzzles to help second graders learn money facts. She also effectively incorporates and models the principles of emotional intelligence in conducting the various sessions that she leads in the Learning Commons. “Ms. Rodko’s generous and unassuming nature makes her a favorite with students and adults alike, and she is a very worthy recipient of this award,” said WEF President, Marcia Hamelin.

This Award is named for David Trigaux — former teacher, principal, program administrator, and superintendent of the Weston Schools — who was widely recognized for encouraging creativity in education and for his support of teachers who brought it to their classrooms. He also played a critical role in the creation and early evolution of Weston Education Foundation.

Click here to see the full listing of past award winners.

PHOTO CAPTION: L-R: WEF Vice President Mark Bieler, WEF President Marcia Hamelin, Weston BOE Member Ruby Hedge, Sharon Rodko, WEF Founder Liz Stokes, WEF Treasurer Tammy Roberts, WEF Grants Chair Sandy Hart, WEF Secretary Robyn Tas, Hurlbutt Principal Laura Kaddis, Weston Superintendent Dr. William McKersie.